Do Antique Cars Need Inspection In MA?

Can you drive an antique car everyday?

For example, their owners may drive them to car club activities, in parades and on pleasure trips of no more than 250 miles from home.

The car must pass an initial state inspection but is exempt from inspection after that.

Some people register their vehicles as antiques but use them for everyday driving, and that’s OK..

What is considered an antique car in Massachusetts?

An “antique motor car” is any motor vehicle over 25 years old maintained solely for use in exhibitions, club activities, parades, and other functions of public interest.

Can you drive with a red rejection sticker in MA?

Answer: The Red R sticker indicates that the vehicle is not safe to operate on public roads and must be repaired immediately. The vehicle must pass its re-inspection within 60 calendar days of the initial failure.

Will tire pressure light fail inspection in MA?

This safety feature visually alerts the motorist of a tire pressure problem, but is not a part of the Massachusetts Vehicle Check safety inspection. Vehicles cannot be failed if a TPMS Lamp is illuminated.

What cars are exempt from emissions in MA?

Model years 2005 and newer passenger cars, trucks and SUVs. Model years 2005 and newer light-duty diesel vehicles (with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating or “GVWR” of 8,500 pounds or less)

Can you get an inspection sticker in Ma On Saturday?

A certified MA State Inspection station in Pepperell, MA. Customer can receive a MA State Inspection sticker for cars and trucks. Stop in during our MA State Inspection service hours: Monday – Friday 8am – 4:30pm, and Saturday 8am – 11:30am. …

Can they tow your car for expired inspection in Massachusetts?

Driving a vehicle with an expired inspection sticker in Massachusetts is subject to a fine of $50. … Driving with an expired registration in Massachusetts can result in the vehicle being towed, a suspension of a driver’s license to operate as well as fines and points added to the driver’s SDIP.

Can you get an inspection sticker on Sunday in Massachusetts?

Re: inspection sticker on sundays Nope. Inspections are a government run service. Computers are turned off on Sundays.

Are LED headlights illegal in Massachusetts?

Featured headlights in massachusetts In Massachusetts like in many other states red and blue LEDs are frowned upon and only authorized on emergency vehicles and such. At least 2 headlights and 2 tail lights are required. It is unclear if auxiliary lighting is allowed.

What year vehicle is exempt from emissions in MA?

1983Massachusetts’ law allows state officials responsible for the emissions program to exempt vehicles that are 15 years old before the year in which their inspection occurs. State implementing regulations provide an exemption for vehicles that are 1983 models or older.

Do you need an inspection sticker on an antique car in Louisiana?

Motor vehicles which are forty years old or older and which are used primarily for exhibition in shows, parades, tours, and other special uses and not for general transportation and which are registered and licensed as antique as provided in R.S. 32:707(L) shall be exempt from the inspection requirements of this …

How long can you drive with an expired inspection sticker in MA?

Those drivers who will now have an additional 60 days, or a total of 120 days from the date of expiration, to renew their license, state officials said. All licenses, inspection stickers or plate registrations that expired in April have been extended by 60 days to June of the original expiration date.

How many miles can you drive with antique plates in VA?

250 milesAntique plates permit occasional pleasure driving (not to exceed 250 miles from the owner’s residence) but are not to be used for general transportation purposes, including but not limited to, daily travel to and from the owner’s place of employment.

How old does a car have to be to be an antique in Massachusetts?

25 years oldAn “antique motor car” is any motor vehicle over 25 years old maintained solely for use in exhibitions, club activities, parades, and other functions of public interest.

Can you pass inspection with check engine light on in MA?

If your check engine light is on, then there is some problem with your vehicle. Inspection stations will not give you a pass. Sure, it’s certainly possible that it’s an erroneous warning, but there’s no way for inspectors to know that. Have your vehicle repaired before it is inspected.

What happens if you get a rejection sticker in MA?

After you get safety defects fixed, your Certificate of Rejection allows you to operate your vehicle for up to 60 days, while arranging for re-inspection. Until your vehicle is re-inspected, be sure to keep the repair receipts in your vehicle as proof that you are complying with the law.

Is there a grace period for car registration in MA?

Massachusetts allows a grace period of seven (7) calendar days from the date you dispose of your previous vehicle to register your new vehicle. Under this grace period, the following conditions must be met: You must be at least 18 years old.

What happens if you get pulled over with an expired inspection sticker in Massachusetts?

In Massachusetts, a ticket for an expired vehicle inspection sticker is the equivalent, in auto insurance citation points, of a moving violation. According to the MA Department of Insurance: Surcharge points are incurred if you: cause an at-fault accident.