- Can you sue someone for throwing away your belongings?
- Can a mechanic hold your car until you pay?
- Can you negotiate with a body shop?
- How do you know if your mechanic is scamming you?
- What happens when your car gets impounded in California?
- How much can a tow company charge for storage in California?
- What if a tenant leaves belongings behind?
- Can a repair shop charge me more than the estimate for the repairs?
- Can I sell abandoned property?
- Is it illegal to work on your own car in California?
- Can a repair shop charge storage fees in Texas?
- Can mechanic sell your car?
- What happens if you can’t afford to get your car out of impound?
- Can a repair shop charge storage fees?
- How much are impound fees in California?
- How much does a 30 day impound cost in California?
- Can I charge storage fees for items left on my property?
- What to do if a mechanic rips you off?
Can you sue someone for throwing away your belongings?
Short answer: Yes, you possibly can, but it will depend highly on the circumstances, and whether it was negligent or intentional.
It may also depend on the value of said belongings: you may lose more in paying for your claim than you stand to gain..
Can a mechanic hold your car until you pay?
Paying for repairs The repairer can keep your vehicle until the invoice has been paid (possessory lien). Tip: When a repairer applies a lien the owner can sue them for the return of the vehicle. The repairer can keep the vehicle until the court orders its return to the owner.
Can you negotiate with a body shop?
Vehicle body damage can be expensive to repair. Quotes from body shops can be much higher than you are comfortable spending. However, with a little patience and negotiating skill, you may be able to lower your cost. … Go to the auto body shop offering the lowest price and ask the manager for a 10 percent discount.
How do you know if your mechanic is scamming you?
Do you need a new mechanic? Here’s how to tellWhen a routine repair turns into something else. Did you bring your car in for an oil change and suddenly you’re faced with a big repair bill? … You didn’t receive an estimate. … What training? … The customer doesn’t come first. … They don’t own their mistakes.
What happens when your car gets impounded in California?
When your vehicle is impounded, it means that it is in the custody of the State. Fortunately, you will likely be able to get your car back, but you will have to pay hefty fines. Only in some instances will your vehicle be taken away from you permanently and become government property.
How much can a tow company charge for storage in California?
California state law also prohibits towing companies from charging more than one day’s worth of storage costs for a vehicle, provided that the vehicle is reclaimed within 24 hours of the initial towing.
What if a tenant leaves belongings behind?
If you leave goods behind on the premises at the end of your tenancy, the landlord/agent may dispose of them after giving you correct notice. … The Uncollected Goods Act 1995 sets out the process that a landlord/agent must follow when dealing with goods left behind including how they may dispose of them.
Can a repair shop charge me more than the estimate for the repairs?
If you didn’t agree a price before the work was done (or you only got an estimate) If the trader only gave an estimate then they can charge you more within reason. If you don’t think the extra charged is reasonable, ask the garage to reduce the price.
Can I sell abandoned property?
Before you are allowed to do anything with items that have been left with you, they must be considered ‘uncollected’ by law. Once they are legally uncollected, you will have the right to sell, keep or destroy that property as you see fit.
Is it illegal to work on your own car in California?
Yes. However, it is unlawful for any person to engage in, or permit others to engage in, minor vehicle repair or maintenance in any agricultural, agricultural-residential, residential, interim estate and interim residential zones under any of the following circumstances: 1.
Can a repair shop charge storage fees in Texas?
Yes. A mechanic has the legal right to keep your car until you pay for the repairs and to charge you for storage while waiting for payment. If you feel you’ve been cheated, pay the bill, making it clear you don’t agree with the cost. … Then take your car, parts, and paperwork to a second mechanic.
Can mechanic sell your car?
While a mechanic can not legally sell your vehicle immediately, because most if not all states require the mechanic to wait at least 30 days after the customer is notified about the finished repairs to sell the vehicle, if payment is not made and an agreement is not made they can legally sell your vehicle after the …
What happens if you can’t afford to get your car out of impound?
You are, however, more likely to get a loan from a community action agency, especially if you are employed and just in need of temporary help. Some agencies may agree on using the funds to pay the impound fees, speeding or parking tickets, and DMV registration costs. Applying for a payday loan.
Can a repair shop charge storage fees?
4. The Motor Vehicle Repair Industry Code of Conduct did not assist the repairer in trying to create a contract between the repairer and the owner for storage of either vehicle. … The NSW Supreme Court has ruled smash repairers do not have the right to charge storage fees while holding customers’ vehicles.
How much are impound fees in California?
Towing and Storage RatesDaily Storage RatesPayment by Credit CardStandard Vehicle:$42.50Trucks Over One Ton – Trucks, Boats and trailers Under 20′:$47.00Trucks Over One Ton – Trucks, Boats and trailers 20′ to 40’$60.00Trucks Over One Ton – Trucks, Boats and trailers over 40’$74.503 more rows
How much does a 30 day impound cost in California?
If possible, please bring a copy of any paperwork the officer gave to you at the time the vehicle was impounded. The fee to release an impounded vehicle is $239. 4. How do I request a hearing for 30 day impound?
Can I charge storage fees for items left on my property?
Yes, certainly. Though you would have to have a contract with the owner. If the owner refuses to agree to paying storage fees, you can demand that he removes his items for your property.
What to do if a mechanic rips you off?
Give the mechanic as much information as possible about the symptoms – what’s happening and when it happens – but don’t tell the mechanic what you think the problem is (if you are wrong, you may end up paying for an extra repair because, well, you asked for it); Talk to the mechanic who will be working on the car; and.